What is the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme? The Food Hygiene Rating Scheme assesses the hygiene standards of food vendors in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. It encompasses restaurants, takeaways, cafés, hotels and pubs – essentially anywhere consumers can purchase non-pre-packed food. Under the scheme, every food vendor in England, Wales and Northern Ireland is given a hygiene rating from zero-to-five:

0 – Urgent improvement necessary

1 – Major improvement necessary

2 – Improvement necessary

3 – Generally satisfactory

4 – Good

5 – Very good


The scheme is run by local authorities in partnership with the Food Standards Agency.

How does it work? A food business’s hygiene rating is determined by local authority food safety officers, who will periodically visit food premises to inspect the following:

  • How hygienically food is handledhow it is prepared, cooked, cooled, re-heated and stored
  • The condition of the buildingsthe cleanliness, layout, lighting, ventilation and other facilities
  • How the business manages and records what it does to make sure food is safe

The rating is based on what the food safety officer sees on the day of the visit. Food businesses are generally inspected between every six-months and two-years, based on the potential danger to the public.

Why does it matter?

At indiancurry.com, we believe the best and safest indian curry experience is to be had at those restaurants where the highest levels of food hygiene are followed. We believe this shows that the management of the restaurant truly care about the product they bring to your table.

We publish the food hygiene ratings of every indian restaurant that we list. We ensure the data for every restaurant is regularly updated, ensuring you receive the most accruate and to date information to help you make your choice